19 Ministers named to constitute Akufo-Addo’s cabinet

In accordance with Article 76 of the 1992 constitution, the of the Republic of Ghana, President Akufo-Addo has named 19 ministers to constitute his cabinet.

The 19 ministers of cabinet include Mr. Alan Kyeremanteng, Minister for Trade and Industry, Hon. Ambrouse Dery, Minister for Interior, Hon. Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, Foreign Affairs Minister, Madam Gloria Akufo, Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Hon. Dr. Owusu Afriyie, Agric Minister,  Mr. Boakye Agyako, Minister for Energy .

Others include Hon. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Education Minister, Hon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu, Minister for Health,  Hon. Antony  Akoto Osei, Minister for Monitoring and Evaluation , Hon. Dan Botwe , Regional Integration Minister , Mr. Peter Amewu, Lands and Natural Resource , Hon Joe Ghartey , Minister for Railway Development,  Hon Kofi , Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources .

The rest are Hon Igunitus Bafour Awuah, Minister for Employment and Labour  Relations, Mr. Kwaku Ofori Asiamah , Minister for Transport ,  Hon. Mavis Hawa Kumsoon, Minister for Special Development and Hon  Catherine Afeku , Minister for Tourism Arts and Creative Arts.

Speaker of Parliament,  Rt. Hon. Mike Oquaye disclosed this on the floor of Parliament on Tuesday when the House resumed sitting for the second meeting of the first session of the senven Parliament of the fourth republic.

Article 76 (1) of the country’s constitution requires every newly sworn-in president to constitute a Cabinet consisting of not less than 10, and not more than 19 ministers among Ministers appointed by the President.

The Cabinet, article 76(2) provides, “shall assist the President in the determination of general policy of the Government.”

According to records avialable to the Information Services Department (ISD) former President Jerry John Rawlings chose 19 and 25 ministers in1993 and 2001 respectively to serve under his government, John Agyekum Kufuor had 31 ministers serving his administration in 2001 and 2008.

Late President John Atta Mills also appointed 23 Ministers whiles his successor John Mahama increased it to 24.


Exclusively Newslinegh

About (1280 Articles) is run by a network of politically non-aligned and progressive Ghanaian citizen Journalists, who are committed to affecting positive change, promoting national development and improving information access.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: