Mahama’s hope of returning to power has been dashed

Flagbearer of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) has suffered another defeat in his bid to become Ghana’s President for the second time.

This follows his second defeat meted out to him by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in the just-ended December 7 polls.

Mr. Mahama who came second in the closely contested race polled  6,214,889 [47.36%] as against Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party [NPP] who won the polls with 6,730,413 [51.59%]  of the total number of valid votes cast.

Returning Officer of the 2020 presidential election, Jean Mensa, announced the results of Monday’s polls today, December 9, 2020.

She said the figures exclude results from the Techiman South constituency which is currently under dispute.

Declaration without Techiman South

The Techiman South Constituency, with a voter population of 128,018.

The difference between the total number of votes between by the first and second candidates is 515,52.

“Even if the votes the results of the second candidateit would not change the outcome of the Presidential Election. Hence our declaration of the 2020 results without that of Techiman South. If the results from Techiman South Constituency are collated, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo would obtain 50.8% of the votes and John Dramani Mahama, would obtain 47.873% of the votes”, Jean Mensa explained.

In all, 12 presidential candidates contested in the 2020 polls.

So far, the GCPP’s Henry Herbert Lartey and LPG’s Kofi Akpaloo have all called President Nana Akufo-Addo to congratulate him for his victory.

Over 17 million persons were registered to vote in this election, in over 38, 000 polling stations across the 275 constituencies.

But, the total number of voters in the polls was 13, 434, 574 representing a 79 voter turnout.

This will, however, be the last time Nana Akufo-Addo will be facing off Mahama in an election, given that the former will be ineligible to contest in another election, having served two terms.

Mahama vs. Nana Addo in Ghana’s history

Both Nana Akufo-Addo and John Mahama have previously run the presidential race for two consecutive times.

In 2012, John Mahama won the polls with 50.7 percent but the legitimacy of the polls was challenged at the Supreme Court after which it ruled in favour of the Mr. Mahama and the NDC.

However, in 2016, Akufo-Addo unseated Mahama by more than one million votes (53.85 percent) making the latter the only President in the history of Ghana to lose a reelection bid.

Below is the full list of the results by the EC:

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP) – 6,730,413 (51.595%)

John Dramani Mahama (NDC) – 6,214,889 (47.366%)

Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM) – 105,565 (0.805%)

Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP) – 12,215 (0.093%)

Akua Donkor (GFP) – 5,575 (0.024%)

Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) – 3,574 (0.027%)

Hassan Ayariga (APC) – 7,140 (0.054%)

Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG) – 7,690 (0.059%)

David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC) – 10,887 (0.083%)

Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP) – 6,848 (0.052%)

Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings (NDP) – 6,612 (0.050%)

Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker (Independent candidate) – 9,703 (0.074%)

Source: Citinewsroom

About (1280 Articles) is run by a network of politically non-aligned and progressive Ghanaian citizen Journalists, who are committed to affecting positive change, promoting national development and improving information access.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: