NPP Holds National Delegate’s Conference Today To Elect Its Executives

About 6,000 members of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) will today, Saturday, July 7, 2018, converge on the campus of the Koforidua Technical University in the Eastern Region to elect their national executives as the party hosts its National Delegate’s Conference.

Over 40 members of the NPP are seeking to occupy various executive positions in the party to lead the party for the next four years.

The National Delegate’s Conference is being held in pursuant to Article 10 (2) and (3) of the NPP constitution.

The conference will be in two parts.

In part one; a statement shall be delivered by the acting National Chairman, Freddie Blay, who is seeking to be confirmed as the substantive chairman.

The acting General Secretary, John Boadu, who is also seeking to become the substantive secretary will also give a report, and the National Treasurer will also give the statement of accounts.

Several others will also deliver speeches including former President John Agyekum Kufuor and President Nana Akufo-Addo.

During the second session, the affairs of the conference shall be handed over to the National Elections Committee which shall conduct the internal elections under the supervision of the Electoral Commission of Ghana.

Breakdown of aspirants

Four aspirants are vying for  the National Chairmanship position.

They include acting chairman Freddie Worsemawu Blay, Stephen Ayensu Ntim,  Dr. Richard Amoako Baah and David Kankam Boadu.

One of the persons vying for the chairmanship position Alhaji Abubarkari Abdul-Rahman popularly known as Alhaji Short bowed out of the race about two months ago.

A statement signed by his Campaign Manager, Kwabena Marfo said his boss stepped down “after a long introspection and consideration.”

A total of 14 others are also vying for the party’s Nasara coordinator position.

National Nasara Aspirants
1. Ahmed Zaruk Nuhu
2. Alhaji Rashid Adam
3. Alhaji Shuaibu Musah Shariff
4. Abdul Aziz Harunafuta
5. Ali Suraj
6. Alhaji Aminu Abu
7. Baba Gado Ibrahim
8. Salifu Yahaya Bo
9. Abubakari Sulemana
10. Abdulai Iddrisu Dipantiche
11. Dauda abdula Rahman Duodu
12. Kazeem Ibrahim
13. Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo
14. Abdul-Rahman Diallo

National Organizer
1. Sulemana A. Sadik Nabicheinga
2. Emmanuel Tweneboah Kodua
3. Sammy Awuku

National Women Organizer Aspirants
1. Joyce Konokie Zimpare
2. Kate Gyamfua

National Youth Organizer Aspirants
1. Dominic Kwesi Eduah
2. Henry Nana Boakye
3. Emmanuel Nana Bediako D. A
4. Kamal-Deen Abdulai

General Secretary Aspirants
1. John Boadu
2. Richard Ahiagbah

National Treasurer Aspirants
1. Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah
2. Abraham Obeng Amoakohene
3. Nuhu Bayorbo Mahama
4. Mary Posch-Oduro
5. Hajia Ruka Ahmeed
6. Kwabena Oppong Frimpong

National Vice Chair Aspirants
1. F. F. Antoh
2. Ken-Wuud Nuworsu E
3. Hon Agnes A. Chigabatia
4. George Isaac Amoo
5. Vida Agyekum Acheampong
6. Micheal Omari Wadie
7. Rita Talata Asobayire

National Chair Aspirants
1. Stephen Ayensu Ntim
2. Dr Richard Amoako Baah
3. David Kankam Boadu
4. Freddie Worsemawu Blay


About (1280 Articles) is run by a network of politically non-aligned and progressive Ghanaian citizen Journalists, who are committed to affecting positive change, promoting national development and improving information access.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: