Joe Ghartey led-committee sits today on bribery schandal

The  special parliamentary Ad hoc committee set up to probe the bribery allegation against members of the appointments committee will begin sittings today, Wednesday February 15.

The Joe Ghartey-led committee could not sit on Monday as scheduled because the key witness, Mahama Ayariga, was out of the jurisdiction on an official assignment.

The Bawku Central MP and some members of the minority caucus on the appointments committee have alleged that attempts were made to bribe them to pass Energy minister Boakye Agyarko after his vetting.

The minority MPs maintian  an amount of GHC3000 was given each of them through the minority chief whip Muntaka Mohammed who is supposed to have received the money from the committee chairman.

Both the minority chief whip and chairman of the committee Joe Osei Owusu have denied the claim.

Composition of the  investigation committee

The special investigation committee is chaired by the MP for Essikado-Ketan who doubles as the Minister in charge of Railways Development, Joe Ghartey.

The four other members [all MPs] include; Ben Abdallah, Ama Pomaah Boateng, Magnus Kofi Amoateng and B.T. Baba.


Exclusively Newslinegh

About (1280 Articles) is run by a network of politically non-aligned and progressive Ghanaian citizen Journalists, who are committed to affecting positive change, promoting national development and improving information access.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: